2003-04 Mach 1 Registry Owners Club  

Best Mustang Parts

Go Back   2003-04 Mach 1 Registry Owners Club > "GO" Discussions > Engine & Drivetrain (Including trans & rear axles)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2009, 08:15 PM   #76
blown03Mach1
8LB YNER
 
blown03Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tampa
Posts: 5,656
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

If I know someone with and auto Mach and I have a stick, is it as simple as swap of parts and the ECM's? Or is the wiring harness still wrong?

I have thought about going to an auto and I ran into a auto Mach owner who has been wanting to go to a stick.



Just thinking....
__________________
Just because you're winnin'
Don't mean you're the lucky ones


TR 2003 (Jezebel) sold Mar 12...
blown03Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 12:46 AM   #77
shaken_1
"BALLS TO THE WALL"
 
shaken_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: the colony, TX
Posts: 90
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

nice thread my roomate is in the process of doing it to his 04 cobra. what size converter do you ? and how much power did you lose from the swap
__________________
Teskid block bored .20 over, stage 4 ported EATON w/ 2.8 pulley,sean hyland blower cams, ported heads, Electric Water Pump,mac longtubes W/H pipe, magnaflow catback,3:90's, JLT intake, and a BADASS tune by LTMOTORSPORTS.com in Richardson TX
504hp at 13psi
shaken_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 02:51 PM   #78
Jimyg34
MACH NU1
 
Jimyg34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Leamington, Ontario
Posts: 607
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Good Luck with this project! I personally like my 5 spd and wouldn't ever want to change it. To each is own though.
__________________
Jimy G
03 Black Mach 1
VIN#420549 Stock- SCT Tuned
Magnaflow Catback Exhaust
K&N CAI
Jimyg34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 05:16 PM   #79
Bullitt5094
Mach/Bullitt Hybred
 
Bullitt5094's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 103
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Removing my TKO and going with the BC Automotive built 4R70W knocked .75 sec off my ET in the Bullitt. Car is now running 9.6s at 145 leaving the line in "D" and letting the EEC do all the shifting. Never miss a shift! But I understand the love of the clutch too. My almost stock Mach I still has one. My swap was covered in the 2007 January issue of MMFF.
__________________
9.33@152 mph 2001 Bullitt
BC Automotive 4R70W, G&G Performance / Kris Starnes Racing 4V Motor, Vortech JT-Trim
Almost Stock '03 Mach 1
'06 F250 PSD
Bullitt5094 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 06:13 PM   #80
WNTAMACH1
WNTAMACH1
 
WNTAMACH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 2,394
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

I'm considering this as well. Also doesn't break as many things lol.
__________________
2004 Ford Mustang Mach 1-315 RWHP/ 336 RWTQ

2013 Ford Mustang GT 5.0 Auto- 421/406 SOLD

2013 Ford Taurus SHO PP - Daily Driver
WNTAMACH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 02:11 PM   #81
WNTAMACH1
WNTAMACH1
 
WNTAMACH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Posts: 2,394
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Doesn't the Mach in auto red line at 5800 and 5 speed red line's at 6800. If I installed an auto in my 5 speed car, could I rev it to 6800 safely?
__________________
2004 Ford Mustang Mach 1-315 RWHP/ 336 RWTQ

2013 Ford Mustang GT 5.0 Auto- 421/406 SOLD

2013 Ford Taurus SHO PP - Daily Driver
WNTAMACH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:15 PM   #82
Fosters
LS1-stock
 
Fosters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 1,550
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by WNTAMACH1 View Post
Doesn't the Mach in auto red line at 5800 and 5 speed red line's at 6800. If I installed an auto in my 5 speed car, could I rev it to 6800 safely?
You'll find a lot of people swap to autos when they need to shift past 7k as most manuals don't like to be shifted that high... And my t56 is no exception. I'm considering it too actually; just not sure if I wanna go manual valve body or swap the computer or get a standalone controller like the one from Baumann...
__________________
2013 gt - TBD
2004 mach1 - 12.31@110.17, 1.645 60' - SOLD
Fosters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 11:04 PM   #83
Bullitt5094
Mach/Bullitt Hybred
 
Bullitt5094's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 103
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Wow, this thread got dredged-up after a long time!
__________________
9.33@152 mph 2001 Bullitt
BC Automotive 4R70W, G&G Performance / Kris Starnes Racing 4V Motor, Vortech JT-Trim
Almost Stock '03 Mach 1
'06 F250 PSD
Bullitt5094 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 05:26 PM   #84
New Mach
Team Comp Orange Pres.
 
New Mach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 919
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

I have a 94 Mach 1 Auto, please tell me it's easier to go from a Auto to a 5 or 6 Speed. Considering do that swap.

Triple
__________________
2004 Comp. Orange Mach 1/AUTO

Performance:
K&N Filter
Magnaflow X-Pipe
Magnaflow Cat-Back
Predator Diablo Tune
Suspension:
Griggs Rear Springs/300 lbs.
Koni Yellow Adjustable
MM CC Plates
MM Front Coilovers
MM Adjustable Rear LCA
MM Full length SFC
MM 4-pt K-Member Brace
MM Steel Braided Brake Lines
Appearance:
35W DDM HID Lights
S281 Rear Deck Spoiler
MRT 3" Rolled Exhaust Tips
Ford 8.8 Axle Cover
Saleen Matt Black 18x9
Nitto Extreme 555 275/35/18

*FOR SALE SUMMER 2016*
New Mach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2013, 07:50 PM   #85
Bullitt5094
Mach/Bullitt Hybred
 
Bullitt5094's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 103
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Rest assured, it is MUCH easier. The biggest problem you'll face is the shifter mounting. And that is no big deal. You'll also need to install the pedal assembly with the clutch. You should be able to find that in any scrap yard. Not sure why you would want to go from an Auto to a Manual but I'll write that off to personal preference.
__________________
9.33@152 mph 2001 Bullitt
BC Automotive 4R70W, G&G Performance / Kris Starnes Racing 4V Motor, Vortech JT-Trim
Almost Stock '03 Mach 1
'06 F250 PSD
Bullitt5094 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 05:38 PM   #86
Mach828
Dark Knight
 
Mach828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 5,759
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Bringing this back from the dead

After a lot of searching I was able to locate the article from Modular Fords by Dave King. I uploaded the pdf to my google site. Here is the link.

Should be starting my swap soon. Have the trans, convertor, most of the swap parts. Just need my rebuild kit, cooler, and flexplate and I'll get started. Should have a 700hp capable trans completely swapped for $2,200. Less than I spent on my 700hp 3650.

https://sites.google.com/site/abqfas...edirects=0&d=1
__________________

Vortech V2 S-trim, E85, A2A Treadstone, Comp cams, built engine, full exhaust, built rear, built 4r70, more mods.

Tuned by me with SCT Advantage
Mach828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2015, 05:48 PM   #87
Bullitt5094
Mach/Bullitt Hybred
 
Bullitt5094's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 103
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Hard to believe it's been 8 years since I did mine...
http://www.mustangandfords.com/how-t...-transmission/

I'll be subscribing. Good luck!
__________________
9.33@152 mph 2001 Bullitt
BC Automotive 4R70W, G&G Performance / Kris Starnes Racing 4V Motor, Vortech JT-Trim
Almost Stock '03 Mach 1
'06 F250 PSD
Bullitt5094 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 08:17 AM   #88
fastlane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 193
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Good luck with the swap! I keep telling myself I need to do the same thing...I just swapped in a T56 about 2 years ago and I am tired of replacing clutches and cables. I am looking to make about 650 to the rear tires with my impending build and I don't want to have to spend another grand on a clutch like I did last year to hold the 500hp I am making now(I should've gone with the RXT versus the RST).

Thanks for finding and posting the article.
fastlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 09:53 AM   #89
littlemags
finally paid for
 
littlemags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ypsilanti Twp, Mi
Posts: 4,062
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastlane View Post
Good luck with the swap! I keep telling myself I need to do the same thing...I just swapped in a T56 about 2 years ago and I am tired of replacing clutches and cables. I am looking to make about 650 to the rear tires with my impending build and I don't want to have to spend another grand on a clutch like I did last year to hold the 500hp I am making now(I should've gone with the RXT versus the RST).

Thanks for finding and posting the article.
swapping from t56 to auto was the BEST thing I did for my car....I replaced three clutches in two years and ONE clutch after 6 runs down the strip. NOW I changed to a th400 full reverse manual ( so I shift)
__________________
2004 mach 1-turbo build in progress..
Fast xfi 2.0
OLD combo-
826rwhp/720 trq -100 shot NX
9.13@154 on 100 shot
NEW- in progress...
littlemags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 11:57 AM   #90
mach1metalhead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,065
Not sure if this is really the right place, but if someone wants my auto parts, I'll trade them for manual parts.
__________________
03 Mach (Auto)
JLT RAI - 1/2" Intake Spacer - Mac longtubes - Mac Prochamber - Borla cat-back - PA Racing k-member - Energy Suspension motor mounts - Eibach Sportline springs - Eibach anti-roll kit - SPC caster/camber kit - Steeda X2 ball-joints - Steeda strut tower bar - Eibach 1" wheel spacers (rear only)
mach1metalhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2015, 10:02 PM   #91
Mach828
Dark Knight
 
Mach828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 5,759
Quote:
Originally Posted by mach1metalhead View Post
Not sure if this is really the right place, but if someone wants my auto parts, I'll trade them for manual parts.
Maybe we can trade some parts? I ordered a good amount but am missing some stuff.
__________________

Vortech V2 S-trim, E85, A2A Treadstone, Comp cams, built engine, full exhaust, built rear, built 4r70, more mods.

Tuned by me with SCT Advantage
Mach828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2015, 10:32 PM   #92
mach1metalhead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,065
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mach828 View Post
Maybe we can trade some parts? I ordered a good amount but am missing some stuff.
If my Mach wasn't my daily, I'd take you up on this, but I need a full swap...
__________________
03 Mach (Auto)
JLT RAI - 1/2" Intake Spacer - Mac longtubes - Mac Prochamber - Borla cat-back - PA Racing k-member - Energy Suspension motor mounts - Eibach Sportline springs - Eibach anti-roll kit - SPC caster/camber kit - Steeda X2 ball-joints - Steeda strut tower bar - Eibach 1" wheel spacers (rear only)
mach1metalhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 06:14 PM   #93
jeffrey1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: manalapan
Posts: 227
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Are a lot of these parts from ford still available like the harness. Also guys using manual VB what are you using for a shifter
jeffrey1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2015, 10:07 PM   #94
Mach828
Dark Knight
 
Mach828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 5,759
A lot of them I was able to get from tousley. I was glad they still had the harness. They were missing some stuff though.
__________________

Vortech V2 S-trim, E85, A2A Treadstone, Comp cams, built engine, full exhaust, built rear, built 4r70, more mods.

Tuned by me with SCT Advantage
Mach828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 03:48 PM   #95
jeffrey1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: manalapan
Posts: 227
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

If going manual VB there are a lot of parts on that list I don't need
jeffrey1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 08:48 PM   #96
littlemags
finally paid for
 
littlemags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ypsilanti Twp, Mi
Posts: 4,062
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffrey1 View Post
If going manual VB there are a lot of parts on that list I don't need
yes...that s what I did. Didnt have to change computers and saved a LOT of issues...PLUS I still like shifting...(kinda)...lol
__________________
2004 mach 1-turbo build in progress..
Fast xfi 2.0
OLD combo-
826rwhp/720 trq -100 shot NX
9.13@154 on 100 shot
NEW- in progress...
littlemags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 09:26 PM   #97
jeffrey1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: manalapan
Posts: 227
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by littlemags View Post
yes...that s what I did. Didnt have to change computers and saved a LOT of issues...PLUS I still like shifting...(kinda)...lol
How high you reving your auto to are you using a 2001 cobra ECU
jeffrey1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 01:18 AM   #98
Mach828
Dark Knight
 
Mach828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 5,759
Thought the mach ecu was setup to run auto or manual. Th400 is a different beast. Guess I'm about to find out if I can tune it or not. Driving it like a factory auto is going to be nice if so.
__________________

Vortech V2 S-trim, E85, A2A Treadstone, Comp cams, built engine, full exhaust, built rear, built 4r70, more mods.

Tuned by me with SCT Advantage
Mach828 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 08:48 AM   #99
littlemags
finally paid for
 
littlemags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ypsilanti Twp, Mi
Posts: 4,062
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffrey1 View Post
How high you reving your auto to are you using a 2001 cobra ECU
using a my 2004 stock computer. I have a full manual VB...(reverse) so I shift gears. park, 1-2-3...
It was just easier to do it that way vs messing with a tune, computer and all the other crap.

this is an old pass...but you get the idea
http://youtu.be/sJzF2WTCLOU
__________________
2004 mach 1-turbo build in progress..
Fast xfi 2.0
OLD combo-
826rwhp/720 trq -100 shot NX
9.13@154 on 100 shot
NEW- in progress...
littlemags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2015, 02:34 PM   #100
jeffrey1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: manalapan
Posts: 227
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Can the Mach computer be tuned to go pass 7200 like 7400-7600 or do I need a 01 cobra computer. Any pictures of the shifter
jeffrey1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2002-2013 Mach1Registry.com

<