2003-04 Mach 1 Registry Owners Club  

Best Mustang Parts

Go Back   2003-04 Mach 1 Registry Owners Club > "GO" Discussions > Engine & Drivetrain (Including trans & rear axles)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2005, 04:57 PM   #51
DanK
Blessed Hellride
 
DanK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Rineyville, Ky.
Posts: 1,968
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by VetEtr
The three actual 1994 Cobras used as pace cars for the Indy 500 had automatic transmissions. Those are the only Cobras ever produced that weren't sticks. This is a safety requirement for the race. Just a fun fact.
Hmmm, cool. Thanks for the fun fact. Where can I find one. LOL
__________________
2003 Azure Blue Mach 1
Build Date: May 12, 2003

Mods: Aircharger, Borla Stinger cat- back, PHP intake spacer
DanK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2005, 10:01 PM   #52
steven
it's shaken...not stirred
 
steven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: TN
Posts: 1,327
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

03steve , what kind of numbers are you running? explain the computer things in simpler terms....
__________________
2004 mustang mach 1
Auto
IUP
steven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2005, 04:34 PM   #53
dhg1667
Guest
 
dhg1667's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orland Park, IL
Posts: 29
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

excellent write up and a nice cobra.
dhg1667 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2006, 09:14 AM   #54
slow.04
Registered User
 
slow.04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: md
Posts: 220
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

very cool write up , if want to go fast go with a auto....!!!!
__________________
4.30 gears,moser 31spline axles , motorsport diff cover, welded axle tubes ,hpm lower control arms,adjustable upper arms, bfg drag radial, bassani cat back, bassani off roads with cats , under drive pulley k.n air filler, perdator , a little nitrous,cobra fuel pump assy. php intake spacer b&m hammer shifter pi.converter assy lentech valve body ,window tint 20%. jon lund tuned .
slow.04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2006, 05:57 PM   #55
Mach10488
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Alsip, IL
Posts: 35
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Why the HELL would you want to change ur stick shift car to a automatic?
Mach10488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 05:46 AM   #56
Angus66
1/4 Mile Drags Moderator
 
Angus66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Guntersville, AL
Posts: 2,630
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mach10488
Why the HELL would you want to change ur stick shift car to a automatic?
Automatic-equipped cars are easier to launch & more consistent than a manual-trans car in 1/4-mile racing.

That's usually the main reason for the swap.
Angus66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2006, 03:55 PM   #57
YellowMenace
Registered User
 
YellowMenace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Schertz, TX
Posts: 2,640
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Here is another new writeup on this subject that is probably as complete as any I've ever seen.

http://www.modularfords.com/articles...4_Cobra/1.html
__________________
Zinc yellow NMRA Factory Stock configuration Coyote 5.0 engine, FRPP Control Pack and a bunch of other stuff. Best ET in this configuration 10.693@123
YellowMenace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 02:09 PM   #58
Stang6T8
Guest
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central cali
Posts: 439
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

did you change the brake pedal or did you go cheap and leave the manual one...
Stang6T8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 10:11 AM   #59
03Steve
Registered User
 
03Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 298
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mach10488
Why the HELL would you want to change ur stick shift car to a automatic?
To stomp mudholes in stick cars, prevent drivetrain/rear end part failures, and make the drivebility more streetable than a high-powered on/off clutch.

At my power level, it makes more sense.

I used a GT auto brake pedal, with Mach 1 IUP cover.
__________________
2003 Cobra Coupe SOLD
WFC8 #7 Heads Up Qualifier - Cobra Eliminator
MSC3 #1 Heads Up Qualifier - Fastest Ford Vehicle

Saleen Clone CURRENT
-10.7:1 Compression and 2.3L Whipple
-Comp Cams 106360 cams @ 108LSA
-4R70W and CVAF1 Auto EEC
-96 Cobra Rear End
-Machine/Head work by Todd Fays of Phase 2 Crestwood, MO

http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j1...unch2small.jpg
03Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 06:15 PM   #60
MACH_Daddy_#1
Registered User
 
MACH_Daddy_#1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Denver, Co.
Posts: 45
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angus66 View Post
Automatic-equipped cars are easier to launch & more consistent than a manual-trans car in 1/4-mile racing.

That's usually the main reason for the swap.
I understand the reasoning completely, But...easier....why would you want to make it easier? It's like taking the skill out of the equation......yes I understand that in VERY high horsepower cars it is the way to go, but the question stands....Why in the HELL would you change your 5 speed to an automatic rather than just buy an auto to begin with, as well as why did you buy a cobra if you don't want a stick? It may just be me and a few others....but this is the dumbest thing I've heard of in a long time.
__________________
'03 azure blue mach1
diablo chip
4.10's
pro 5.0 shifter
BBK Longtube Headers
& O/R X-Pipe
SLP cat back w/resonators
Hardened 28 spline axles
Rebuilt w/Forged Internals ready for action...lol
Brembo f&r slotted&drilled rotors
SLP Line Lock
Eibach adjustable shocks/struts/springs(lowered 1/2'')
Camber/Caster Plates
Edelbrock upper/lower control arms
& sub-frame connectors
MACH_Daddy_#1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 07:53 PM   #61
03Steve
Registered User
 
03Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 298
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by MACH_Daddy_#1 View Post
It may just be me and a few others....but this is the dumbest thing I've heard of in a long time.
Looks like I have to repeat myself.

My car made 710 rwhp and spun on the dyno at 3000 RPM in 4th gear with the 6-speed. When I took the car out to race, I went through clutches and rearend parts quite frequently. The 6-speed was too hard on parts, and reliability suffered.

To get the most reliability, enjoyment, and streetability out of the car at the strip and on the street, a 4R70W auto was the way to go at that power level.

It may be the dumbest thing you ever heard of, I can accept that. I am sure you have your own way of dealing with your high HP monster...Mr. 4.10s and exhaust.
__________________
2003 Cobra Coupe SOLD
WFC8 #7 Heads Up Qualifier - Cobra Eliminator
MSC3 #1 Heads Up Qualifier - Fastest Ford Vehicle

Saleen Clone CURRENT
-10.7:1 Compression and 2.3L Whipple
-Comp Cams 106360 cams @ 108LSA
-4R70W and CVAF1 Auto EEC
-96 Cobra Rear End
-Machine/Head work by Todd Fays of Phase 2 Crestwood, MO

http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j1...unch2small.jpg
03Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2006, 10:01 PM   #62
Mach03InFront
27 feet of rubber
 
Mach03InFront's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jupiter,Florida
Posts: 209
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by ponygt65 View Post
.


Since when?
if they made cobras in auto i would have one
__________________

2003 Oxford White IUP Auto
2010 SVT Raptor 5.4L
Mach03InFront is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 10:50 PM   #63
almostthere4v
Registered User
 
almostthere4v's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: bardstown, ky
Posts: 205
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

god i want this done so bad but scared i'm going to **** up... i wanted a 5 spd at first but now i wish i never got one. i have a tko500 tranny in it now, but its suchs a hard shifting tranny.... i hate 5 spd, and will never owe another one...
almostthere4v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 07:18 AM   #64
rar1955
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 239
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by 03Steve View Post
Here is it, in plain english when possible.
Think this about everything, minus the tranny and converter.
I will add as I remember. This will acheive a stock looking
automatic Mach 1:

1R3Z-7210-AA - Shifter assembly: $174.42
XR3Z-7E395-AA - Trans shift cable assy: $48.24
F6SZ-7007-A - Lower bellhousing cover: $32.47
XR32-7C078-BA - 4R70W wiring harness: $90.00
XR3Z-7B229-AA - Brkt-trans kickdown cable: $9.80
3R3Z-6304567-AAB - Bezel out of Mach 1, I traded for charcoal gray: $170.22
1R3Z-4841-EA - 4R70W driveshaft yoke for tranny tailshaft: $85.38
F1VY-7986-A - ***-Will post desciption up later: $5.70
F8AZ-7G276-AA - Shifter position sensor: $22.27
F6ZZ-3F719-AC - Cable asy-ign shift interlock: $57.18
E43Z-7B415-A - Stud-tr gr sh conn rod adj: $6.18
F1DZ-7H181-A - Fitting-trans shft actu ca: $7.68
1L3Z-7H103-AB - Speed sensor: $22.31
XR3Z-7A228-BA - Fill tube for tranny fluid: $15.83
XR3Z-7A020-BA - Dip stick for fill tube: $19.37
378377-S - Plug button for firewall hole 1.38 dia: $1.91
F2UZ-7H183-A - Plug for the mechanical speed sensor - if not supplied with transmission



Also need:

-8 bolt flexplate. I got mine from Perfomance Automatic for $226.00
-Plug for convertor/flexplate access port on bottom of bellhousing, Ford $4.00
-GT automatic brake pedal, Ford $30.00
-Mach 1 brake pedal cover, Ford $32.00
-B&M 24,000 GVW tranny cooler, Summit $48.00
-Tranny cooler lines and fittings, Auto Zone $40.00
-Switch for overdrive to replace coin holder, Strictly Pro $10.00
-1350 to 1330 u-joint for tailshaft yoke, Auto Zone $30.00
-11/16 driveshaft spacer from Steeda, $20.00










Questions:

Steve
(314) 409-6731
Did you have any problem mounting you auto shifter? I swapped my son's auto to a stick, I had to enlarge the shifter hole towards the engine, drill 2 new holes for the top 2 shifter boot holes. Was your shifter hole to big for the auto shifter? (2000 Mustang)

Last edited by rar1955; 08-19-2008 at 07:21 AM. Reason: add 's add another line
rar1955 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2008, 10:31 AM   #65
04azuremach
Loud, fast and fun
 
04azuremach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Owning Ricers at MIR
Posts: 7,864
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mach10488 View Post
Why the HELL would you want to change ur stick shift car to a automatic?
So I can blow your doors off

And no, I don't care if he asked that question 2 years ago.
04azuremach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2008, 06:17 PM   #66
Bullitt5094
Mach/Bullitt Hybred
 
Bullitt5094's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 103
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by almostthere4v View Post
god i want this done so bad but scared i'm going to **** up... i wanted a 5 spd at first but now i wish i never got one. i have a tko500 tranny in it now, but its suchs a hard shifting tranny.... i hate 5 spd, and will never owe another one...

Call Darrin at BC-automotive.com. He did an article in Muscle Mustangs and Fast Fords on converting my Bullitt from a 5sp to a 4R70W about a year ago. Lopped off almost .7 from my ET with that conversion. Since then I've installed a 4V and with the shifter in "Drive" and with the EEC completely controlling the shifting and lockup, the car is now running 9s with just under 700RWHP. The original poster used a Lentech tranny with an Open converter. You can go with a lock-up converter with Darrin's conversion which makes the car MUCH more streetable and has a huge advantage at the track too on the big end. Mine's trapping 139mph currently. Open converters soak-up HP. I started a thread with my recent escapades with the 4V with some additional details on the car here...
http://www.mach1registry.org/forums/...ad.php?t=83994
__________________
9.33@152 mph 2001 Bullitt
BC Automotive 4R70W, G&G Performance / Kris Starnes Racing 4V Motor, Vortech JT-Trim
Almost Stock '03 Mach 1
'06 F250 PSD
Bullitt5094 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 06:48 AM   #67
shoelebubba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Figure I might as well ask.

Can I expect the same type of performance if I used a stock Mach 1 with an automatic trans as I would a stock 5 spd Mach 1 converted to an automatic?
shoelebubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 08:29 AM   #68
YellowMenace
Registered User
 
YellowMenace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Schertz, TX
Posts: 2,640
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoelebubba View Post
Figure I might as well ask.

Can I expect the same type of performance if I used a stock Mach 1 with an automatic trans as I would a stock 5 spd Mach 1 converted to an automatic?
IF you put a stock tranny and converter in the 5 spd, then probably yes. BUT almost no one that is doing the conversion would use stock stuff. So the performance would be better, just like if you took the stock auto mach and upgraded it.
__________________
Zinc yellow NMRA Factory Stock configuration Coyote 5.0 engine, FRPP Control Pack and a bunch of other stuff. Best ET in this configuration 10.693@123
YellowMenace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 11:01 AM   #69
Bullitt5094
Mach/Bullitt Hybred
 
Bullitt5094's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 103
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoelebubba View Post
Figure I might as well ask.

Can I expect the same type of performance if I used a stock Mach 1 with an automatic trans as I would a stock 5 spd Mach 1 converted to an automatic?
I'm not sure I understand the question but, the only difference from a factory Automatic Mach and doing a conversion from a 5sp to a stock 4R70W is the computers are different and the factory automatics came with a steel "GT" crankshaft and the Manual Machs came with a forged "Cobra" crankshaft. Performance wise there would be no difference from what I know.

Why are you asking? Are you thinking of buying a Mach, have a choice between an auto and a manual? If that's the case and you want to end up with an automatic, I'd certainly get the automatic to begin with and start the mods from there.
__________________
9.33@152 mph 2001 Bullitt
BC Automotive 4R70W, G&G Performance / Kris Starnes Racing 4V Motor, Vortech JT-Trim
Almost Stock '03 Mach 1
'06 F250 PSD
Bullitt5094 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 01:39 PM   #70
shoelebubba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullitt5094 View Post
I'm not sure I understand the question but, the only difference from a factory Automatic Mach and doing a conversion from a 5sp to a stock 4R70W is the computers are different and the factory automatics came with a steel "GT" crankshaft and the Manual Machs came with a forged "Cobra" crankshaft. Performance wise there would be no difference from what I know.

Why are you asking? Are you thinking of buying a Mach, have a choice between an auto and a manual? If that's the case and you want to end up with an automatic, I'd certainly get the automatic to begin with and start the mods from there.
You pretty much nailed it on the head.
My only worry from this point on with an Automatic is researching to see if I need to get different mod parts than a manual. Not very car educated I'm afraid.
shoelebubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 01:50 PM   #71
Bullitt5094
Mach/Bullitt Hybred
 
Bullitt5094's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 103
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

If you want to end up with an Automatic and have a choice, start with one. The remainder of the car is the same with the exception of the material in the crank shaft as I mentioned earlier.
__________________
9.33@152 mph 2001 Bullitt
BC Automotive 4R70W, G&G Performance / Kris Starnes Racing 4V Motor, Vortech JT-Trim
Almost Stock '03 Mach 1
'06 F250 PSD
Bullitt5094 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 03:24 PM   #72
shoelebubba
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Ah, apologies for the delayed post.

Looking back at the choice of Mach 1 Auto or Manual, the automatics come in 4 speed while the manual is a 5 speed.

Is this important at all for any performance related to the car? Loss of torque, etc.

Sorry for being a pain, just trying to do my homework before buying a car (this time around being the Mach 1 of course).
shoelebubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 04:40 PM   #73
YellowMenace
Registered User
 
YellowMenace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Schertz, TX
Posts: 2,640
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoelebubba View Post
Ah, apologies for the delayed post.

Looking back at the choice of Mach 1 Auto or Manual, the automatics come in 4 speed while the manual is a 5 speed.

Is this important at all for any performance related to the car? Loss of torque, etc.

Sorry for being a pain, just trying to do my homework before buying a car (this time around being the Mach 1 of course).
The 4 speed vs 5 speed isn't really a meaningful comparison because you're talking apples and oranges.

If you want an automatic, get one. If you want to shift, get a manual.
__________________
Zinc yellow NMRA Factory Stock configuration Coyote 5.0 engine, FRPP Control Pack and a bunch of other stuff. Best ET in this configuration 10.693@123
YellowMenace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 12:56 PM   #74
Hmbre97
Eaton swapped User
 
Hmbre97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 771
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Can a PCM from a 5 speed Mach be reflashed to an auto PCM? I know the Cobra guys have to swap because the Cobra PCM is pinned differently and Ford left the auto trans stuff out but aren't all the Mach PCM's pinned the same? I am really thinking of going to an auto and do not want to go MVB.
__________________
-Herb-
03 Torch Red Mach 1
Photobucket
Hmbre97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2008, 08:53 PM   #75
GAAzureMach1
Registered User
 
GAAzureMach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Covington, GA
Posts: 492
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hmbre97 View Post
Can a PCM from a 5 speed Mach be reflashed to an auto PCM? I know the Cobra guys have to swap because the Cobra PCM is pinned differently and Ford left the auto trans stuff out but aren't all the Mach PCM's pinned the same? I am really thinking of going to an auto and do not want to go MVB.
I am wondering the same thing?
__________________
Todd
03 Azure Mach1
11.08 @ 127
Under the knife
8.5:1 comp soon
Crower cams soon
Whipple conversion soon
04 Cobra Fuel Tank & Pumps done
4R75W 2500 stall soon
4.30 Gears done
Detroit Locker done
31 Spline Moser Axles done
Weld axle tubes, battle boxes done
Ford Racing Catback done
Bassani X-Pipe done
Bassani Midlengths done
GAAzureMach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2002-2013 Mach1Registry.com

<