2003-04 Mach 1 Registry Owners Club  

Best Mustang Parts

Go Back   2003-04 Mach 1 Registry Owners Club > "GO" Discussions > Electrical System

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2017, 04:45 PM   #1
03INCT
Registered User
 
03INCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 145
Speedometer not working

Took the car out today for the first time sincew I took the battery out for storage. Ran pretty good but noticed the speedometer was not woking and to odometer went to -----------. Any sugggestions???
03INCT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2017, 05:38 PM   #2
311-420
M-112 Mach 1
 
311-420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 6,509
Re: Speedometer not working

Are the reverse lights working? If not, I bet that plug for the harness on top of the transmission has come unplugged or gotten damaged. Just fixed this issue myself a couple months back.

Be careful, when the speedometer doesn't work the car has no idea how fast it's travelling and can stall out very easily. Especially when coming up to a stop.
__________________
04 Oxford White // 5spd, IUP
Eaton @ 6psi, Longtubes
Built/3.73 rear, TSM tune
452/409
311-420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2017, 06:31 PM   #3
03INCT
Registered User
 
03INCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 145
Re: Speedometer not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by 311-420 View Post
Are the reverse lights working? If not, I bet that plug for the harness on top of the transmission has come unplugged or gotten damaged. Just fixed this issue myself a couple months back.

Be careful, when the speedometer doesn't work the car has no idea how fast it's travelling and can stall out very easily. Especially when coming up to a stop.
It did stall out, that's when I noticed it. is it a large harness?? Mice??
03INCT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2017, 11:07 PM   #4
311-420
M-112 Mach 1
 
311-420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 6,509
Re: Speedometer not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by 03INCT View Post
It did stall out, that's when I noticed it. is it a large harness?? Mice??
That plug/harness has the speedo, reverse lights, some oxygen sensors etc all in that one plug. Check to see if your reverse lights are working or if there's some oxygen sensor codes being thrown.
__________________
04 Oxford White // 5spd, IUP
Eaton @ 6psi, Longtubes
Built/3.73 rear, TSM tune
452/409
311-420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2002-2013 Mach1Registry.com

<