2003-04 Mach 1 Registry Owners Club  

Best Mustang Parts

Go Back   2003-04 Mach 1 Registry Owners Club > "GO" Discussions > Tuning & Dyno Testing/Results

Tuning & Dyno Testing/Results Questions, experiences & results for electronic tuning and dyno tests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2018, 05:23 AM   #1
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 156
Dyno Mach 1

Hi all,

I have an 04 Mach 1 with a Procharger kit on it.

I have taken it a tuner over here in the UK to help refine it with a custom map on the dyno.

Have hit some problems!

They say the car won't rev past 5000 RPM and the AFR is running too rich. They also said that there is not much boost, 1 or w psi.

At first they thought the cat has collapsed or was blocked, but with further investigation they cant find any obvious signs of exhaust blockage but believe it will certainly be restrictive.

You guys got any thoughts?

Thanks, Dean/
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 08:27 AM   #2
DSG2003Mach1
700 HP Mach
 
DSG2003Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 8,138
Re: Dyno Mach 1

reload the procharger tune and make a pull, that will tell you if its the car or them

the car will make plenty of power for the stock internals with the factory cats in place
__________________
03 dsg mach1 - MPR built 9.5:1 motor, D1, cams, ported intake, full exhaust, magnum t56, built rear, E85 etc...

'12 F150 FX2 Supercrew with Ecoboost daily beater
DSG2003Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 06:49 AM   #3
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 156
Re: Dyno Mach 1

Why would you think the car can not rev past 5k?

They are struggling to gain any type of access to the ECU at the minute.
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 07:05 AM   #4
DSG2003Mach1
700 HP Mach
 
DSG2003Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 8,138
Re: Dyno Mach 1

Assuming it’s running on the tune from the new guys and won’t rev I have to assume this car is over their head.

I’ve not really heard of people struggling to access the computer. I’ve seen an SCT device get hung up and tech support fix it and very vey rarely the computer fails.

What device and software are they attempting to use?
__________________
03 dsg mach1 - MPR built 9.5:1 motor, D1, cams, ported intake, full exhaust, magnum t56, built rear, E85 etc...

'12 F150 FX2 Supercrew with Ecoboost daily beater
DSG2003Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 07:55 AM   #5
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 156
Re: Dyno Mach 1

So it has the tune from Diablo and the hand held tuner that came with the Procharger kit.

They say they can't access or do anything with Diablo files.

They are proposing to revert the map back to stock and they should be able to work with it?
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 07:57 AM   #6
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 156
Re: Dyno Mach 1

"Assuming itís running on the tune from the new guys and wonít rev I have to assume this car is over their head."

With this, its running on the procharger diablo tune, so when you say new guys you mean the dyno tuners who have the car?

If so, as they have no access they have been able to do nothing other than put it on dyno and identify the following:

Low boost - wont go over 2psi.
Running rich
& will not rev over 5000 rpm.
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 08:11 AM   #7
DSG2003Mach1
700 HP Mach
 
DSG2003Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 8,138
Re: Dyno Mach 1

when I said new guys I meant the dyno tuners that have the car.

Were you having problems going over 5k rpm on the street before taking it to them or had you even tried that?

if all they have is the diablo handheld they arent going to be able to change much of anything, possibly nothing depending on how procharger sets up the device. I believe diablo is the same as SCT - you have to have purchased the programming package for it as a tuner. In which case they would be able to go into the diablo software and load from diablo the base file for your computer (the 4 or 5 digit code or whatever it is for your calibration) and then make changes on a computer in the diablo software.

I dont believe they can download any of the programming from the handheld device to a computer and modify it.

I purchased the SCT Pro-racer software a while back for ~$600ish I think, that included one pcm code. When I load their software it has my base calibration loaded by default and then I can go in and make changes to the tune. I then send that tune file to my tuner and upload to the car
__________________
03 dsg mach1 - MPR built 9.5:1 motor, D1, cams, ported intake, full exhaust, magnum t56, built rear, E85 etc...

'12 F150 FX2 Supercrew with Ecoboost daily beater
DSG2003Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 08:19 AM   #8
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 156
Re: Dyno Mach 1

Arh ok,

yeah the dyno tuners have done not done anything yet other than tell me some issues.

I never truly had the chance to open it up as it appeared to be running too lean.

Also don't have any memory off pushing it hard and noticing it would not pull after 5k.
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 08:22 AM   #9
DSG2003Mach1
700 HP Mach
 
DSG2003Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 8,138
Re: Dyno Mach 1

its a tough spot to be in without knowledgeable tuners nearby.

Honestly I still think your best bet would be to set up a remote tuning session with someone in the states. Finding someone reputable that still works with Diablo may narrow that pool a bit
__________________
03 dsg mach1 - MPR built 9.5:1 motor, D1, cams, ported intake, full exhaust, magnum t56, built rear, E85 etc...

'12 F150 FX2 Supercrew with Ecoboost daily beater
DSG2003Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 08:32 AM   #10
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 156
Re: Dyno Mach 1

Yeah seems to be that is the case!

I am up for looking into that to be honest.

However the issues they have highlighted (low boost, running rich and not reving past 5k) I really do no know where to start!?
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 09:28 AM   #11
DSG2003Mach1
700 HP Mach
 
DSG2003Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 8,138
Re: Dyno Mach 1

running rich, not revving etc could all be tune related or could be mechanical as well.

the 2psi thing is complicated with it running shitty, could be a number of things. It's very difficult to say without having it in front of you
__________________
03 dsg mach1 - MPR built 9.5:1 motor, D1, cams, ported intake, full exhaust, magnum t56, built rear, E85 etc...

'12 F150 FX2 Supercrew with Ecoboost daily beater
DSG2003Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2002-2013 Mach1Registry.com

<