2003-04 Mach 1 Registry Owners Club  

Best Mustang Parts

Go Back   2003-04 Mach 1 Registry Owners Club > "GO" Discussions > Power Adders

Power Adders Superchargers, Turbos, Nitrous, etc...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2017, 01:08 PM   #26
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Boost sensor

Also, with the part number I gave - is that one that needs power removed from it first?

If so, do I just pull the harness from the sensor or the harness out the back of the gauge? then disconnect the gauges and then the battery?
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 05:33 PM   #27
DSG2003Mach1
700 HP Mach
 
DSG2003Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 7,945
Re: Boost sensor

I haven't had a chance to look for ya I'll try to look later
__________________
03 dsg mach1 - MPR built 9.5:1 motor, D1, cams, ported intake, full exhaust, magnum t56, built rear, E85 etc...

'12 F150 FX2 Supercrew with Ecoboost daily beater
DSG2003Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 08:49 PM   #28
DSG2003Mach1
700 HP Mach
 
DSG2003Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 7,945
Re: Boost sensor

so you did you buy the $23 5v power supply deal or not? If not where are you getting 5volts from?

I looked at the instructions on their website and dont see anything mentioned about that

I think you might be confusing the oil pressure kit with the boost kit. The oil pressure kit should have the resistor mentioned in the instructions, if you use that you dont have to worry about it.

If you dont have the regulator and/or the resistor then you would need to make sure the sensor cannot get power (take out the fuse), then unplug the gauge from the obd 2 port would be likely be the safest order of operations
__________________
03 dsg mach1 - MPR built 9.5:1 motor, D1, cams, ported intake, full exhaust, magnum t56, built rear, E85 etc...

'12 F150 FX2 Supercrew with Ecoboost daily beater
DSG2003Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 04:11 AM   #29
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Boost sensor

yeah I bought that!

So I used the fuse slot with a 15amp fuse for the convertible switch.

Replaced that with an add-a-circuit and a 10amp fuse, with a 4 amp fuse to protect my new circuit.

Wired that to the 5v regulator, chassis earthed and then connected up to the sensor. Chassis earthed that sensor and then wired up to analog input 1 on the gauge.
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 04:22 AM   #30
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Boost sensor

I have a resistor in the oil pressure kit, although not got to setting that up just yet.

The instructions just said in big letters pretty much dont apply power unless the sensor it's connected to the gauge. So I assume before I unplug the gauges to disconnect the battery I either have to pull the harness out the sensor or pull the harness out the back of the gauge.

But pulling the fuse would kill power to so maybe I just do that. Pull the whole add a circuit I would imagine would be fine to?
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 04:57 AM   #31
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Boost sensor

I T'd the sensor into the same vacuum line I T'd the bypass valve on too.

Could this be wrong? Just questioning my actions at the minute!
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 08:53 AM   #32
DSG2003Mach1
700 HP Mach
 
DSG2003Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 7,945
Re: Boost sensor

1) if youre going to unhook the car's battery you dont have to unhook the gauges or anything

the whole thing is not to put the key in the ignition and turn it any direction that will put power to the add on while the gauge is unhooked from the OBD2 port. Yes, you can just pull the add a circuit before unplugging the gauge from the OBD2 port and youll be fine.

2) the vacuum source you used is fine. You either have something wired up funky or didnt program the gauge correctly (which is easy to do, it took me a few times to figure out WTF I was doing). The gauge has 2 analog inputs, you have to make sure you are setting up the correct one and that you put the slope and intercept in correctly. With it reading 13.xxx I say again it sounds like you're displaying battery voltage but Im not sure which mistake would be more likely to cause that
__________________
03 dsg mach1 - MPR built 9.5:1 motor, D1, cams, ported intake, full exhaust, magnum t56, built rear, E85 etc...

'12 F150 FX2 Supercrew with Ecoboost daily beater
DSG2003Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 09:00 AM   #33
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Boost sensor

Cheers for that!

Aeroforce did get back to me.

They said ... 'when you are getting the intercept as the reading it means the gauge is getting 0 volts from the sensor.
check the wiring. ensur that the sensor has a good 5 volt source.'

So I guess I shall put a multimeter to it all tonight and try and narrow it down.
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 09:10 AM   #34
DSG2003Mach1
700 HP Mach
 
DSG2003Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 7,945
Re: Boost sensor

ya thats why i just bought the higher boost 12v kit, made it a little easier lol
__________________
03 dsg mach1 - MPR built 9.5:1 motor, D1, cams, ported intake, full exhaust, magnum t56, built rear, E85 etc...

'12 F150 FX2 Supercrew with Ecoboost daily beater
DSG2003Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 09:30 AM   #35
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Boost sensor

Ha yeah!

Although I needed the 5v reg for the oil pressure sensor too so went with the 2 bar option.

The wiring seems to simple I really can't see where the issue could of come from.

Unless I have bad chassis earths? I will check if the harness is getting power first I guess.
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 10:47 AM   #36
DSG2003Mach1
700 HP Mach
 
DSG2003Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 7,945
Re: Boost sensor

depending on you how did your connections could be a bad crimp, broken wire etc... Im not sure where you grounded it but on passenger side of the trans tunnel up near the firewall there is a factory ground (green bolt). Youve gotta pull the carpet back, I usually pop up the plastic trim along the pass side door opening, theres one push pin holding the kick panel in place, remove that then roll the carpet back.
__________________
03 dsg mach1 - MPR built 9.5:1 motor, D1, cams, ported intake, full exhaust, magnum t56, built rear, E85 etc...

'12 F150 FX2 Supercrew with Ecoboost daily beater
DSG2003Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 05:06 PM   #37
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Boost sensor

I checked the installation again tonight and I believe dodgy grounds were causing me issues with only seeing the intercept value.

I did make sure the sensor was receiving 5 volts, and it was.

With the engine off, but ignition on it read 0.2. With the engine started and idling it read -10.1? Any ideas!?

As for where I grounded them, I went with the following locations!

Went with a bolt on the fuse panel for the 5 volt reg earth. This OK to use rather than extend it all the way over to the passengers side?



And the sensor in the engine bay, went with this (What is the purpose of this strip going into the fiber glass hood??)

__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 06:43 PM   #38
01yellerCobra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,051
Re: Boost sensor

The Aeroforce only reads in PSI. It doesn't read vacuum. The -10 you're seeing is actually -10PSI. Rough math says vacuum (IN-HG) is twice the pressure. So -10PSI*2=-20IN-HG. So your gauge is reading correctly.
__________________
New Ride:
2004 Mystichrome Cobra-Accufab SBTB and plenum, Steeda 2.8" upper, Bassani X, Borla Stingers, Mcleod RXT, MGW shifter, Level 5 halfshafts, chrome FR500's, Stiffler's FIT system and DS safety loop, GT pumps, BA3000, tuned by owner
01yellerCobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 06:57 PM   #39
DSG2003Mach1
700 HP Mach
 
DSG2003Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 7,945
Re: Boost sensor

Looks like you've got it man, .2 is nothing to worry about just adjust the formula as per instructions and you'll have it reading .0 @ engine off key on. It might bounce 0-.1 and backnkr something but agin nothing to worry about.

Like teller said when negative multiply by 2.2 or something to get vacuum. ~20 inches of vacuum on a car with stock cams is right on
__________________
03 dsg mach1 - MPR built 9.5:1 motor, D1, cams, ported intake, full exhaust, magnum t56, built rear, E85 etc...

'12 F150 FX2 Supercrew with Ecoboost daily beater
DSG2003Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 04:29 AM   #40
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Boost sensor

arrrh OK! So when under loads, what kind of readings should I expect to see?

Cheers for you help by the way!
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 04:41 AM   #41
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Boost sensor

Also, where I have earth wires - is that OK?

Could not find anywhere under the steering wheels to earth the ground - do you think what I have done is OK? Or shall I extend wire and go over the factory bolt you mentioned?

Also, why do we have an earthing strip to our fibreglass body?
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 07:25 AM   #42
DSG2003Mach1
700 HP Mach
 
DSG2003Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 7,945
Re: Boost sensor

It's working fine I'd say your grounds are fine.

There have been posts about that ground strap but I don't recall the reason for it

Driving around you'll likely see anywhere from -10 to as high as 10. A centrifugal makes boost in a way that rises in rapid fashion in the higher rpm range. If you look in the power adder dyno thread some of us have boost plotted on the graph as well for a better idea
__________________
03 dsg mach1 - MPR built 9.5:1 motor, D1, cams, ported intake, full exhaust, magnum t56, built rear, E85 etc...

'12 F150 FX2 Supercrew with Ecoboost daily beater
DSG2003Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 09:57 AM   #43
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Boost sensor

OK great, thanks!

You guys been a great help!
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 03:11 PM   #44
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Boost sensor

Now for some naivety! May sound stupid but I have no real idea What I should be seeing and when.

Went for a drive today and normal drive all I saw was minus numbers. Engine under vacuum right?

Should I only see positive boost numbers in higher rpms?

Sorry for the stupid question!
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2017, 03:19 PM   #45
DSG2003Mach1
700 HP Mach
 
DSG2003Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 7,945
Re: Boost sensor

correct its under vacuum. With a centrifugal and big pulley like you have you wont see it go much positive unless your foot is basically on the floor and you into the higher rpms
__________________
03 dsg mach1 - MPR built 9.5:1 motor, D1, cams, ported intake, full exhaust, magnum t56, built rear, E85 etc...

'12 F150 FX2 Supercrew with Ecoboost daily beater
DSG2003Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 05:21 AM   #46
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Boost sensor

Got ya, thanks!
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2002-2013 Mach1Registry.com

<