2003-04 Mach 1 Registry Owners Club  

Best Mustang Parts

Go Back   2003-04 Mach 1 Registry Owners Club > "GO" Discussions > Fluid Systems (coolant, oil, fuel)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2017, 07:23 AM   #1
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Aeroforce interceptor oil pressure sensor

Hi all,

What adapter would I need to fit the Aeroforce interceptor oil pressure sensor?

Guess it would be some type of T fitting so that the stock sensor stays in place?

Thanks!
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017, 09:37 AM   #2
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Aeroforce interceptor oil pressure sensor

That's if it is meant to go next to the stock sensor?

I did read this elsewhere ...

"If you're already running a blower, you'll need a T-fitting to go in between the oil feed line for the blower and the gage sender unit."
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017, 11:19 AM   #3
DSG2003Mach1
700 HP Mach
 
DSG2003Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 7,975
Re: Aeroforce interceptor oil pressure sensor

youre looking at old info, your blower is a self contained oiling unit. These cars actually have an extra port for an oil pressure sensor. If you do a search I posted about the adapter needed to make the aeroforce sensor work.

DO NOT OVER TIGHTEN! pipe threads expand as you go in order to seal, if you overtighten it you will crack the pot metal oil filter housing assembly and thats about a $130 mistake to get a new one from Ford...ask me how I know
__________________
03 dsg mach1 - MPR built 9.5:1 motor, D1, cams, ported intake, full exhaust, magnum t56, built rear, E85 etc...

'12 F150 FX2 Supercrew with Ecoboost daily beater
DSG2003Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 04:20 AM   #4
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Aeroforce interceptor oil pressure sensor

Going to give this a go on the weekend once the adapter you spoke about in anther thread arrives!

So where is the extra port that I should use? Next to the stock down by the filter?

Thanks!
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 07:20 AM   #5
DSG2003Mach1
700 HP Mach
 
DSG2003Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 7,975
Re: Aeroforce interceptor oil pressure sensor

Correct
__________________
03 dsg mach1 - MPR built 9.5:1 motor, D1, cams, ported intake, full exhaust, magnum t56, built rear, E85 etc...

'12 F150 FX2 Supercrew with Ecoboost daily beater
DSG2003Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 09:05 AM   #6
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Aeroforce interceptor oil pressure sensor

Awesome, cheers!

Is there a bolt or a bung in its place at the minute I guess?
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 10:11 AM   #7
DSG2003Mach1
700 HP Mach
 
DSG2003Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 7,975
Re: Aeroforce interceptor oil pressure sensor

Yes I wanna say it's uses an Allen key to remove.

Again, do NOT over tighten it! Hand tight another 3/4 turn or so with a wrench should be plenty. Once you set up the slope/intercept with key forward engine off I was showing slight positive pressure, I adjusted the formula slightly so it reads basically 0 with engine off
__________________
03 dsg mach1 - MPR built 9.5:1 motor, D1, cams, ported intake, full exhaust, magnum t56, built rear, E85 etc...

'12 F150 FX2 Supercrew with Ecoboost daily beater
DSG2003Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 05:23 AM   #8
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Aeroforce interceptor oil pressure sensor

Good to know! This is my next job once the little brass adapter you mentioned in your thread comes through!

Even that I could not find over here and I had to order from the US!
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2017, 06:13 PM   #9
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Aeroforce interceptor oil pressure sensor

Brass adapter thing came through!

Very tight fitting on the sensor, does not go in all the way down the complete thread. That ok to only be on 2/3s as such?
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2017, 06:52 PM   #10
DSG2003Mach1
700 HP Mach
 
DSG2003Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 7,975
Re: Aeroforce interceptor oil pressure sensor

They are all npt meaning they expand as they go they will not seat flush
__________________
03 dsg mach1 - MPR built 9.5:1 motor, D1, cams, ported intake, full exhaust, magnum t56, built rear, E85 etc...

'12 F150 FX2 Supercrew with Ecoboost daily beater
DSG2003Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2017, 04:35 AM   #11
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Aeroforce interceptor oil pressure sensor

Does looks OK? Does not sit flush on either the brass adapter or the actual slot (was very careful with not to turn too much past finger tight!).

Also used some Loctite on both threads - that OK?!

__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads

Last edited by deancollins; 06-26-2017 at 05:43 AM.
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2017, 07:58 AM   #12
DSG2003Mach1
700 HP Mach
 
DSG2003Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 7,975
Re: Aeroforce interceptor oil pressure sensor

Eh not sure I would have used locktite, hopefully it was blue and not red.

Just spray the area down with. Take cleaner to get it cleaned up then start the car and see what happens. At worst case it should only drip a little if anything but I'd say it looks ok those type of fittings leave a few threads showing
__________________
03 dsg mach1 - MPR built 9.5:1 motor, D1, cams, ported intake, full exhaust, magnum t56, built rear, E85 etc...

'12 F150 FX2 Supercrew with Ecoboost daily beater
DSG2003Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2017, 09:27 AM   #13
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Aeroforce interceptor oil pressure sensor

It was blue, so medium stuff.

I also have PTFE teflon tape that I use on radiators in the house. Maybe use that or just start it up and see how I get on?
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2017, 10:43 AM   #14
DSG2003Mach1
700 HP Mach
 
DSG2003Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 7,975
Re: Aeroforce interceptor oil pressure sensor

i used a liquid PTFE and let it partially set then put it together. You gotta be careful with tape and such, wouldnt want any to end up in the system.

Personally at this point Id just start it up and see what happens, cold start is gonna see pretty high pressure so you should know pretty quickly if youve got a leak or not
__________________
03 dsg mach1 - MPR built 9.5:1 motor, D1, cams, ported intake, full exhaust, magnum t56, built rear, E85 etc...

'12 F150 FX2 Supercrew with Ecoboost daily beater
DSG2003Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2017, 04:23 AM   #15
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Aeroforce interceptor oil pressure sensor

So i left it be and finished my wiring.

Started it up and no leaks from what I can see just yet! So all good at the minute.

What kind of readings should I expect to see with this now?

I got the usual minus figures with the engine off. Then with ignition on it is slightly off zero - so I just tweak the intercept right?

As for the when the car is idling then being driven, what are the type of reading I should keep an eye out for on a procharged Mach 1?

Thanks!
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2017, 08:13 AM   #16
DSG2003Mach1
700 HP Mach
 
DSG2003Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 7,975
Re: Aeroforce interceptor oil pressure sensor

Yes I'd tweak it a tad to get as close to zero as possible. My built motor is built to different specs and clearances so not sure how comparible my pressures are. I see almost 100psi at cold start and falls to mid 20s at idle
__________________
03 dsg mach1 - MPR built 9.5:1 motor, D1, cams, ported intake, full exhaust, magnum t56, built rear, E85 etc...

'12 F150 FX2 Supercrew with Ecoboost daily beater
DSG2003Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2017, 09:29 AM   #17
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Aeroforce interceptor oil pressure sensor

We don't adjust the slope do we?

OK cool, thanks. Yeah the way I understood it, upon start up while cold I should see high readings. As it warms up, low readings. And putting my foot down the readings should rise and drop depending on the throttle?
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2017, 04:32 AM   #18
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Aeroforce interceptor oil pressure sensor

So I used the car today for its first real run for longer than a few miles.

Noticed the oil pressure was around 90's and slowly lowered down to mid 20's/30's on idle.

Then when driving ranges between mid 30's and mid 70's depending on how fast I was going.

Looks normal to me from my understanding. You think that's OK?
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2017, 08:29 AM   #19
DSG2003Mach1
700 HP Mach
 
DSG2003Mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 7,975
Re: Aeroforce interceptor oil pressure sensor

sounds about right as far as i know
__________________
03 dsg mach1 - MPR built 9.5:1 motor, D1, cams, ported intake, full exhaust, magnum t56, built rear, E85 etc...

'12 F150 FX2 Supercrew with Ecoboost daily beater
DSG2003Mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2017, 11:48 AM   #20
deancollins
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: London, England
Posts: 144
Re: Aeroforce interceptor oil pressure sensor

Thanks very much!

Getting closer to the end.
__________________
http://www.eurostang.com - American Muscle on Europes Roads
deancollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2002-2013 Mach1Registry.com

<