2003-04 Mach 1 Registry Owners Club  

Best Mustang Parts

Go Back   2003-04 Mach 1 Registry Owners Club > "GO" Discussions > Power Adders

Power Adders Superchargers, Turbos, Nitrous, etc...

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2019, 10:55 PM   #1
SIC9250
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Sacramento,Ca
Posts: 66
Vortech install MAF ??

So Iím close to installing my Vortech (non-ic) on my 03 Mach and I have a MAF question,will a stock maf in a c&l 85mm housing be enough? If not will a Mafia be a good idea? If I install a mafia do I still need to install and wire a external IAT sensor like Vortech wants for the factory 03-04 internal IAT Mach mafs?
SIC9250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 12:46 AM   #2
hotford
Registered User
 
hotford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 105
Re: Vortech install MAF ??

Well with it being a hot air kit you wont be running more than 10 psi to be safe, so the maf probably wont peg, you could always upgrade to a BA 2800 or 3000, the mafia wont be need at this time, relocating the IAt to the manifold would be a good idea so the tuner can set up the tune a lot better and pull timing accordingly when the IAT rise, I would be looking to either an intercool or add meth injection to control the IAT, also means you can make more power....
__________________
1982 GT
2003 Mach 1
2003 Marauder
2011 Shelby GT 500
hotford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 01:16 AM   #3
SIC9250
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Sacramento,Ca
Posts: 66
Re: Vortech install MAF ??

Thanks for the reply! Yea the longblock is stock,I’m not looking for more than 8-10psi,a IC kit will be installed later on in the cars life I just wanna get the car running with the vortech for now,mild setup..so stock mach maf and mafia with relocated IAT and I will be good to go?
SIC9250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 11:44 AM   #4
machdude
Registered User
 
machdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: so cal
Posts: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by SIC9250 View Post
Thanks for the reply! Yea the longblock is stock,I’m not looking for more than 8-10psi,a IC kit will be installed later on in the cars life I just wanna get the car running with the vortech for now,mild setup..so stock mach maf and mafia with relocated IAT and I will be good to go?


You should be good to go, I just installed a procharger in mine this past weekend and I’m doing my own tune. The stock Mach 1 maf will peg around 300hp so the mafia is definitely a good idea. If you don’t want to spend twice you should look into upgrading the maf entirely but the mafia will work for now


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
1st Mach 2nd mustang

Mods: K&N drop filter, Full Mac exhaust with Lt headers, 4:10 gears, eibach sport line springs, tubular cross member, steeda short throw
machdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 01:10 PM   #5
SIC9250
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Sacramento,Ca
Posts: 66
Re: Vortech install MAF ??

Okay thanks for the help fellas,I will upgrade to IC and blow through slot style maf in the future when I up the boost and install my forged bottom end I have sitting, waiting for some machine work.For now my factory engine is in great shape and I want to run low boost,Iíve had this vortech sitting for 3 years lol itís time for install!
SIC9250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 01:13 PM   #6
SIC9250
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Sacramento,Ca
Posts: 66
Re: Vortech install MAF ??

When I relocate the IAT do I need to do anything to the Mafia wiring or just cut/solder the outter 2 Maf wires in the factory harness to the new IAT plug?
SIC9250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 02:12 PM   #7
machdude
Registered User
 
machdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: so cal
Posts: 357
I’m not familiar with that kit, are you relocating the IAT sensor because the maf is going to be draw through?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
1st Mach 2nd mustang

Mods: K&N drop filter, Full Mac exhaust with Lt headers, 4:10 gears, eibach sport line springs, tubular cross member, steeda short throw
machdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 02:16 PM   #8
SIC9250
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Sacramento,Ca
Posts: 66
Re: Vortech install MAF ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by machdude View Post
I’m not familiar with that kit, are you relocating the IAT sensor because the maf is going to be draw through?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I assume yes,Vortech instructions say to do so,Machs have the IAT built into the maf so it needs to be relocated to external mount into the discharge pipe
SIC9250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 05:14 PM   #9
machdude
Registered User
 
machdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: so cal
Posts: 357
Yes if the maf is draw through you want the IAT sensor after the blower so it meters the temperature of the compressed air. If I’m not mistaken the two gray wires on your maf now should be power and signal wires for the IAT sensor so yes I would just use those two to wire in the new sensor


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
1st Mach 2nd mustang

Mods: K&N drop filter, Full Mac exhaust with Lt headers, 4:10 gears, eibach sport line springs, tubular cross member, steeda short throw
machdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 12:01 AM   #10
SIC9250
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Sacramento,Ca
Posts: 66
Re: Vortech install MAF ??

Leave Mafia wires alone and just cut/solder the outter 2 maf wires for the IAT can anyone confirm this? Mafia has 6 wires reason I ask.
SIC9250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 01:28 AM   #11
hotford
Registered User
 
hotford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 105
Re: Vortech install MAF ??

just cut the two wires going to the maf connector: Grey and Grey with red tracer and attach to the new IAT sensor your gonna use.
__________________
1982 GT
2003 Mach 1
2003 Marauder
2011 Shelby GT 500
hotford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 10:33 AM   #12
SIC9250
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Sacramento,Ca
Posts: 66
Re: Vortech install MAF ??

Thatís what I figured just wanted confirmation thanks
SIC9250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2002-2013 Mach1Registry.com

<