2003-04 Mach 1 Registry Owners Club  

Best Mustang Parts

Go Back   2003-04 Mach 1 Registry Owners Club > "GO" Discussions > Engine & Drivetrain (Including trans & rear axles)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2004, 12:16 AM   #26
jonkolo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Allen Park, Michigan
Posts: 533
Quote:
Originally posted by ZincDude
Maybe you guys are right. I could have sworn I saw a 97 or 98 black conv't with an auto.
No Cobras had autos, but there were so many people that put the snakes on their gt's to make tham look like a Cobra.

I had a 96 Cobra coupe and a 97 Cobra convertible and everyone always asked if they were sticks or autos. I always had to explain that there were no auto cobras ever.

The auto option in the Mach is very unique because of this, that's kinda why I got one.
__________________
04 Screeming Yellow Auto: Best 1/4 mile time basically stock with auto transmission = 13.45 @ 104.14/ Best 0-60 MPH = 5.0 seconds


Stock Mach 1, only 7000 miles, K&N air filter, Yellow top Optima battery, Viper 791xv 2-way interactive alarm with remote start and nite-lite autolamp system, Ford automatic dimming rearview mirror with outside temp and compass display.
jonkolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 01:47 AM   #27
03Steve
Registered User
 
03Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 298
I am still at a loss on why Ford decided to give you guys a cast crank and 6-bolt flexplate. Doesn't Ford make an 8-bolt flexplate for the F-150s?
__________________
2003 Cobra Coupe SOLD
WFC8 #7 Heads Up Qualifier - Cobra Eliminator
MSC3 #1 Heads Up Qualifier - Fastest Ford Vehicle

Saleen Clone CURRENT
-10.7:1 Compression and 2.3L Whipple
-Comp Cams 106360 cams @ 108LSA
-4R70W and CVAF1 Auto EEC
-96 Cobra Rear End
-Machine/Head work by Todd Fays of Phase 2 Crestwood, MO

http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j1...unch2small.jpg
03Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 01:59 AM   #28
96cobrakid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: St. Louis, Mo
Posts: 18
a long weekend steve?! tell the truth, I bet we had a good 3 or 4 days in it, but we were also runnign around trying to find parts to maek it work, but yes, that auto shifts fast!!!!! and when u plug in the main wiring harness, do it before the tranny is bolted up or get so9meone with small forearms to squeeze it up there, I did it, and its not fun!
__________________
1995 Cobra Convertable with Hardtop 1 of 499
2001 Corvette Z06 Speedway White 12.57@115
96cobrakid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 11:16 AM   #29
TheWaterSkier
Registered User
 
TheWaterSkier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lake Worth, FL
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally posted by MyLittlePony
There is no such thing as a Factory auto cobra period.
No arguments, no speeches. They never made one.
I did do some minor assisting in Steve's deal though.

So there are a handful of conversions. When you have a car like Steve's..you couldn't shift fast enough...
Why, is he going faster than the Pro-Stockers? I remember Grumpy Jenkins going in the 9's with the same 4 speed tranny I had in my Chevelle at the time.

Sorry, each to his own, but why would you want to swap to an auto in a Mach (Machs are what this forum is about, right?)? Wouldn't you just buy one that way?
__________________
Roger

Traded on another vehicle. The Mach was a great car with very few issues in the 93,000 miles I put on it. I'll miss it...

'04 DSG 5 Spd. IUP
Tri-Ax purchased day before Mach, installed day of purchase. MGW Adjustable Shifter Arm.
Borla Stainless Steel "Stinger" Cat-back. Fiore firewall adjuster/Steeda clutch quadrant.
TheWaterSkier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 01:28 PM   #30
2k4mach
LuLz
 
2k4mach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 19,292
very nice write up on the parts needed and what not to make it work :THUMBSUP:
__________________
11 Sterling gray GT500 coupe
08 Silver Z06 1058rwhp/1073rwt @ 15psi
14 Silver Q50S Vortech blown
04 DSG Mach 1 (stolen)
03 OW Mach 1 (sitting in a field rotting away)
2k4mach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 02:21 PM   #31
NoMoreGT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally posted by ponygt65
no autos in cobras? really......Can you tell I dont' know THAT much about them...duh.


Now why did they offer the mach with an auto, but not a cobra? I could have sworn I have seen listings on dealers websites with cobras having an auto......ok that is it I am going crazy......

You most likely have seen Auto Cobra's listed online. There was, maybe still is, a problem with ebay and some other automotive for sale sites that when you would put in the VIN of the Cobra, it would automatically list it in the template description as an AUTO.
There are a LOT of dealers out there too who list Cobra's with auto's, because they are dumb and lazy and don't go out and check/or accidentally put it in there. These are usually the dealers who want WAY to much for the car as well. They know nothing about them, besides that fact that they are expensive!
__________________
'03 Torch Red Mach 1
5-speed, IUP

Bassani Catback
17x9 17x10.5 Chrome Bullitts
NoMoreGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2004, 04:07 PM   #32
03Steve
Registered User
 
03Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally posted by TheWaterSkier
Sorry, each to his own, but why would you want to swap to an auto in a Mach (Machs are what this forum is about, right?)? Wouldn't you just buy one that way?
The thread is about HOW TO put an auto in a 4V. Not SHOULD I put an auto in a 4V.

Why would a five speed Mach1 owner want to switch to an auto? What if an owner builds a D1 procharged car and wants to leave the line with boost? What if an owner builds a 700 rwhp setup and is tired of destroying rear end parts, input shafts, and clutches?

Simply put, switching from a manual to an auto is not just for Cobras. :THUMBSUP:
__________________
2003 Cobra Coupe SOLD
WFC8 #7 Heads Up Qualifier - Cobra Eliminator
MSC3 #1 Heads Up Qualifier - Fastest Ford Vehicle

Saleen Clone CURRENT
-10.7:1 Compression and 2.3L Whipple
-Comp Cams 106360 cams @ 108LSA
-4R70W and CVAF1 Auto EEC
-96 Cobra Rear End
-Machine/Head work by Todd Fays of Phase 2 Crestwood, MO

http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j1...unch2small.jpg
03Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2004, 09:52 AM   #33
Mach Vader
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: North Providence, R.I.
Posts: 127
Auto?? In a cobra????.................Why???????
Mach Vader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2004, 05:25 PM   #34
408coupe
Registered User
 
408coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Manassas, Va
Posts: 314
For the guys asking "why" even after you have been told that the built auto is stronger and actually helps the car to build boost at launch to make it FASTER and doesn't need new clutches every month you need to first own a car that makes 600+ horsepower then act like you know what you are talking about. I went with an automatic trans (c4) in my 408 coupe for similiar reasons as above.
408coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2004, 05:27 PM   #35
408coupe
Registered User
 
408coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Manassas, Va
Posts: 314
Thanks for the good Tech info on the swap 03Steve!!
408coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2004, 01:35 AM   #36
rjw158
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 671
The auto is the way to go when you are making over 500 HP, want to leave consistently (trans brake), shift faster and never miss a gear.
rjw158 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2004, 04:12 AM   #37
EZMachN
BlueByU
 
EZMachN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Alabama
Posts: 738
My friend's brother in law's cousin said had an 04 cobra with auto...You guys don't know what your talking about....j/k
EZMachN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2005, 01:56 AM   #38
DanK
Blessed Hellride
 
DanK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Rineyville, Ky.
Posts: 1,968
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Thanks 03Steve! I asked this basic question MONTHS ago with no replies. I hurt my knee in a motorcycle accident and have had a couple of surgeries on it. It bothers my knee to drive around with my 5 spd a couple of hours but I am attached to the car and want to keep it rather than sell it. Not to mention I wouldn't want to give up the forged crank in the 5spd models. Also that was a good idea to put the fox live axle in. I already got axles for the Mach, but I didn't like the fact that backspacing is as far as I could get it but the tire lacks that tucked in and fat look. No rubbing, but it looks wrong. Maybe I could run the 325's instead of the 275's. Actually, if the new 5 spd auto is tough enough, I'd like to look into that. If you hear anything on that swap please pass it on to this thread.
__________________
2003 Azure Blue Mach 1
Build Date: May 12, 2003

Mods: Aircharger, Borla Stinger cat- back, PHP intake spacer
DanK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 12:43 PM   #39
RotaryMagic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 988
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

http://www.tccoa.com/articles/tranny/index.html#

enjoy... saving money by doing it yourself and not having lentech do it for you... hehehe
RotaryMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2005, 02:58 PM   #40
GaPonyFarm
Loose Nut Behind Wheel
 
GaPonyFarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Columbus, Georgia
Posts: 2,259
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Hey RotaryMagic! Thanks for that link. There's some great information on that site and I picked up a few good ideas!
GaPonyFarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 01:17 AM   #41
03Steve
Registered User
 
03Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 298
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Quote:
Originally Posted by RotaryMagic
http://www.tccoa.com/articles/tranny/index.html#

enjoy... saving money by doing it yourself and not having lentech do it for you... hehehe
Jerry's site. He HATES Lentech.
__________________
2003 Cobra Coupe SOLD
WFC8 #7 Heads Up Qualifier - Cobra Eliminator
MSC3 #1 Heads Up Qualifier - Fastest Ford Vehicle

Saleen Clone CURRENT
-10.7:1 Compression and 2.3L Whipple
-Comp Cams 106360 cams @ 108LSA
-4R70W and CVAF1 Auto EEC
-96 Cobra Rear End
-Machine/Head work by Todd Fays of Phase 2 Crestwood, MO

http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j1...unch2small.jpg
03Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 08:04 PM   #42
DanK
Blessed Hellride
 
DanK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Rineyville, Ky.
Posts: 1,968
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

I guess it's too early to say whether the new 5r55s 5 spd auto can be made to work. Install shouldn't be much more to it, but I was thinking the management of the trans.....?
__________________
2003 Azure Blue Mach 1
Build Date: May 12, 2003

Mods: Aircharger, Borla Stinger cat- back, PHP intake spacer
DanK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2005, 10:54 AM   #43
Mach03InFront
27 feet of rubber
 
Mach03InFront's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jupiter,Florida
Posts: 209
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

just beautiful 03steve you have anymore pictures?
__________________

2003 Oxford White IUP Auto
2010 SVT Raptor 5.4L
Mach03InFront is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 08:46 PM   #44
03Steve
Registered User
 
03Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 298
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic





__________________
2003 Cobra Coupe SOLD
WFC8 #7 Heads Up Qualifier - Cobra Eliminator
MSC3 #1 Heads Up Qualifier - Fastest Ford Vehicle

Saleen Clone CURRENT
-10.7:1 Compression and 2.3L Whipple
-Comp Cams 106360 cams @ 108LSA
-4R70W and CVAF1 Auto EEC
-96 Cobra Rear End
-Machine/Head work by Todd Fays of Phase 2 Crestwood, MO

http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j1...unch2small.jpg
03Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 09:45 AM   #45
Mach03InFront
27 feet of rubber
 
Mach03InFront's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jupiter,Florida
Posts: 209
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

i love that sonic blue
__________________

2003 Oxford White IUP Auto
2010 SVT Raptor 5.4L
Mach03InFront is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 04:21 AM   #46
pdmustgt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 372
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Theres one thing missing no one has talked about the computer that runs the auto. Power train module , ecu or ecm whatever it is called I thought it contols both engine and trans on a automatic car.
pdmustgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2005, 09:24 AM   #47
DanK
Blessed Hellride
 
DanK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Rineyville, Ky.
Posts: 1,968
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

I asked earlier but no respose. I'm a newb at this trans mgmt. thing so can anyone tell me how it works? Do you change out the computer? If so how can it manage a Cobra engine that didn't come with auto. Info please. I would consider putting the 5r55s in the mach if I could get it to work.
__________________
2003 Azure Blue Mach 1
Build Date: May 12, 2003

Mods: Aircharger, Borla Stinger cat- back, PHP intake spacer
DanK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2005, 12:14 AM   #48
03Steve
Registered User
 
03Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 298
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Keep your stock manual computer. I am using my cobra's original computer too. The transmission is shifted manually by me. With the manual valvebody, I click through the gears on my own and hit the switch where the coin holder goes for overdrive. It is a stock foglight switch out of a 96GT.

Or, do what my buddy from Delaware has done with his 03 cobra. Put an auto Mach 1 computer in your stick shifted car.
__________________
2003 Cobra Coupe SOLD
WFC8 #7 Heads Up Qualifier - Cobra Eliminator
MSC3 #1 Heads Up Qualifier - Fastest Ford Vehicle

Saleen Clone CURRENT
-10.7:1 Compression and 2.3L Whipple
-Comp Cams 106360 cams @ 108LSA
-4R70W and CVAF1 Auto EEC
-96 Cobra Rear End
-Machine/Head work by Todd Fays of Phase 2 Crestwood, MO

http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j1...unch2small.jpg
03Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2005, 09:06 AM   #49
DanK
Blessed Hellride
 
DanK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Rineyville, Ky.
Posts: 1,968
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

Cool, thanks for the info.
__________________
2003 Azure Blue Mach 1
Build Date: May 12, 2003

Mods: Aircharger, Borla Stinger cat- back, PHP intake spacer
DanK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2005, 01:12 AM   #50
VetEtr
Registered User
 
VetEtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 281
Re: How to change your 5 speed to an automatic

The three actual 1994 Cobras used as pace cars for the Indy 500 had automatic transmissions. Those are the only Cobras ever produced that weren't sticks. This is a safety requirement for the race. Just a fun fact.
__________________
2004 Azure Blue 5 Speed
VetEtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2002-2013 Mach1Registry.com

<