PDA

View Full Version : Downshifting

BlackMachOne
12-17-2003, 07:11 PM
Hey Guys,

I'm new to driving standard, I dont' have a problem stalling or hills at all, but I'm trying to better my driving..and I'm just wondering about a couple of things..First of all you're at stop sign or a red light..What are you guys doing to get the car rolling, are you just feathering in the clutch and maintaining the engine Rpm around a 1000 Rpm or are you blipping the throttle a bit higher and then just easing the clutch in as the revs drop..It sounds dumb but I'm just curious as to what you think..
Also downshifting, when do you guys downshift from 4 to 3rd and so on like what kind of speed or engine rpm are you looking at..And when you downshift do you blip the throttle a bit in between, or do you not touch the gas at all and just ease your way off the clutch for a smooth transition..I'm finding the car doesn't like downshifting into 1st any quicker than about 20km/h..but if I dont' do it quick enough the it doesn't grab and slow the car down because i"m going slow enough as it is..Any advice on either of these would be a great help..Thanks..I'm smooth going through the gears just want to get smoother..
Cheers..:THUMBSUP:

04Retro
12-17-2003, 08:21 PM
It sounds like your downshifting while slowing the car-DONT. You have brakes for that purpose. Using the engine compression to slow the vehile is fun and 'sounds' neat (and we all do it) but it is not what the transmission was designed for. Alot of extra strain on the tranny for no reason. You need to down shift once you reach a slower speed to properly match gears to rpm...to accelerate.

end of lecture-sorry............:blah: :blah: :blah:

RNstanger
12-17-2003, 08:25 PM