PDA

View Full Version : To undercoat or not to undercoat; that is the question.

StangRay
08-26-2002, 01:27 PM
I have started to ask around to see if I should undercoat my new Mach 1 when it arrives.

I used to be a mechanic many years ago and we used to undercoat new vehicles. Back then, (mid 70s to early 80s) we found that the cars rusted more where we had dilled holes for undercoating. Therefor I can tell you for a fact that I will not drill holes. However, we also found that the cars rusted a lot less where we had sprayed undercoating. Some rust could not be stopped, but we found that not undercoating was worse.

My neighbor works for a large auto paint company and he says that the new cars are dipped to prevent rusting and no further undercoating may be required. He gave a lengthy and scientific explaination that seemed to make sense. However, like some of you, I will be a little bit paranoid (and maybe anal at times) about my new ride. I plan to keep it for a long time and I do not want the road salts to eat it away.

My last Mach 1 (73) developed terminal cancer and I was lucky to find anyone willing to buy it afterwards. It was purchased with some rust on it, but the used car dealer had hidden the worst rust with paint and undercoating. If I had not wanted this car so bad back then, I would have run in the other direction because I knew it was going to be trouble. So, maybe now you can see my concern. I know the situation is different because my new ride will be new and I will baby it. But I still want to drive it in the winters. Enjoyment should not be limited to just the summer!

As for winter handling, I plan to buy a set of narrower chrome rims and will be putting on Bridgstone Blizzaks for tires. These tires stick like glue and should help me get through the winter without doing 360s down the road.